Monday, May 01, 2006

LAST WSU CLINIC...

Or, at least i hope so (that would really suck if i have to do summer clinic time). Wow, last tuesday was a good day...kind of. My pt who i had last seen in september, who was supposed to be moving back to mexico in january, who my instructor said would be a great board pt, never really moved! I was cleaning out #'s from my cell phone and came across her number. i called, and she answered! I was a little surprised and a lot excited! I asked if she could come in for a board screening and she was cool with that. THe earliest she could come was this last week of clinic. I'm sad to report that she didn't have quite as much calculus as i would have liked. I think i would have really been cutting it close if i used her. So, the search continued, and i helped kels screen her pt who ended up having 2 wonderful quads that we could use! We busted out the FMX (those still take forever and a day to take...not to mention, unwrap and put into the processor)! I was relieved. Finally, a board pt!

Then, I also found a guy from the private office i work in who i thought would be really good. I had him come for a screening on thursday. He only has one quad that will qualify (i think) and i had a couple other instructors check him. THey also thought he would be a great candidate. I am sad and a little nervous that I couldn't find Joy Gall or Kami to check him out. I think having their "go-ahead" would make me a little more certain. His calc is radiographic...it's for sure there and plenty of it! Probes look good. I'm just praying that i wont need my backup.

Tuesday afternoon was good! I still needed a sealant "requirement." Not like we haven't done enough sealant clinics to just pass that one through! So i had my hubby brett come in for a sealant. Too bad the poor kid didn't know i was going to rope him into passing of my final anesthesia experience too!! So, he got a little poke! What a good sport!! Hey, i figure with him going to dental school i will probably have my share of time in his chair, so i better get my pickin-on done early! The rest of the afternoon we laughed and were pretty care-free! We took lots of pics! This on is my favorite....NO ANKLE SOCKS ALLOWED!! We didn't get busted for them today!!

It's hard to believe that my WSU clinic days are really over. This past week has been so crazy busy! I am really looking forward to our banquet, then graduation! Oh, and a HUGE congrats to Professor Gall for getting the CHP Teacher of the Year Award!! She really is the best!!!! Oh, and if you are a huge blogger you can keep me updated at my other blog. Its http://bloblawatyourservice.blogspot.com I will be posting about my life there! If this link didn't work, there is a link for it over to the right on my side bar! I'm not smart enough to remember how to link!! SEE YA

Tuesday, April 18, 2006

WSU, April 18th

I can't believe we only have one time left in clinic. That just boggles my mind! I remember last year I had to do an extra clinic day to finish up my dreaded class III pt. I had to go into the 2nd years' clinic day to do it. I remember how jealous i was that day...they were all laughing and stress free for the most part. They were taking pictures with their pod pals and hardly any of them had patients show up....and then there was ME, stuffed in a corner op, trying to talk to my pt that didn't speak a lick of english, i was sweatin bullets and suppposed to clean this class III and i still had no idea how my Gracey's worked!

My my, how things have changed!!

Now....I realize Gracey's are God's gift to dental hygienists! I am the one laughing and taking pictures with my clinic friends, i at least attempt to speak some broken spanish to my pts and then we laugh together about how awful it probably sounded, and i won't be trying to find extra clinic days to finish more requirements. I was sitting at the Welcome Celebration for the new class of 2008 on Monday just wondering where this last year went! Everyone said it would go by fast, but i didn't realize it would go THIS fast!!

This morning i saw a kid....finally, done with the 1A requirement and the sealant PE that has been haunting me for the past 8 months. LIKE WE HAVEN'T DONE ENOUGH SEALANT CLINICS TO JUST CALL THAT P.E. COMPLETE!! I even busted out the air powder polisher. What a pain in my A**! That poor kid really got worked over today....as Mair would say, "bless his little heart!" In the afternoon I cleaned my dad for the first time since i've been in school. It was a good experience. That's all i have to say! And, thank goodness for that time when we are "nearing 11:00" as Professor Gall would say! I was able to do my N2O PE today on a classmate instead of dragging Brett in to pay $9 for a not-cheap thrill!!

Friday, April 14, 2006

CA at the good ol' VA

Well, i thought my VA days were over back in February, but i forgot about the dreaded CA position!! Actually it really wasn't bad. I got to ride down with Maryann and she is just a doll, so we had a good time. Kami was our instructor, so that's obviously gonna be a good time! The day was kinda a bust as far as patients go. Not all of them showed up, so we weren't slammed. It was a pretty easy day. Lunch was fun as always...can you guess where we went??? Old Spaghetti Factory! Apparently they are the only store that still accepts Kami's fake checks or something...i don't know!! ha ha ha

Then we had a little extra time after lunch to check out all the glimmer at the fancy jewelry store. I found another ring i really liked. It had diamonds and a pink stone in the middle. It was so dainty. The salesman was trying to make a deal with me...i felt like i was in Tijuana! I think i still like the Chopard "square" better! I may have talked my dad into it! I'll have to get him on a good day when he's feeling rich...and generous! (Too bad he doesn't have a lot of those "generous" days!!) So, then on the way home mair and i made a little detour to find some gift ideas for the instructors...i think we have an idea pinned down. Then we stopped to pickup our class pictures! They turned out pretty cute! I'm excited for everyone to see them.

Well, now i can officially say SMELL YA LATER STINKY VA!!!

WSU...April 11

I'm a few days late, but sometimes that happens! I had a pretty good day on tuesday. My morning pt is my "spanish grandpa" not really, but he is the cutest old man. The first time he came in he asked me (in broken english) if i was LDS. When i said i was, he smiled and said to me "you seem happy!" Little did i know that it sparked something in him. Tuesday was the third time i saw him to get finished up. His last appt was in February and March was so crazy for me that i didn't have time to see him. I told him that one of my classmates could finish him up so he didn't have to wait til april to see me, but he insisted on april. When i seated him on tuesday he handed me something that looked like a ton of popcycle sticks in plastic wrapping. When i turned it over i saw the model picture. It was a 3-D puzzle of the Salt Lake Temple. I was really taken back. He just had a big smile on his face. I thanked him over and over again. He was so sweet! In his broken english he said "thank you for services." I wanted to cry. He was so genuine in his kindness and it was so rewarding to have someone really grateful for what i was doing for them. Most people aren't usually that way. He totally made my day! I got an anesthesia experience on him and he was just a good experience for me alltogether. He had some challenging areas.

My afternoon pt was my cute little brother Kolby. He's 15, but i call him my baby! He is the youngest of 5 kids in our family. I can't wait till he turns 16...Crystal and i are already planning to set him up with her little sister! I think it will be a great match! ha ha ha He was all for it! He's so into girls, it's crazy! So, he was just a 1B, but a body in the chair. It was nice to see him for a couple hours. Now, whenever i go home i never see him because he is always so busy hanging out with his friends. I guess hangin with his older sister isn't the "cool' thing to do anymore and it makes me sad to see him all growing up. Now i'm getting all sentimental! Anywho...that was my tuesday. Oh, and i figured out who the dang shoe thief was on Friday...i had a good idea even before then, but i caught em red handed! ha ha ha hopefully it won't happen again!

Tuesday, April 04, 2006

04-04-2006

Today is the day i've been waiting for---for about 3 months now. No, it wasn't that i was excited for mockboards...THE NEW RASCAL FLATTS CD CAME OUT TODAY!!!! I ran to the store right after clinic to make the long awaited purchase. The sucky thing is that my Jeep is old school and doesn't have a cd player and i'm not willing to buy one (since the heep will die someday real soon) so i had to speed home so i could throw the cd in and listen.....just as i imagined, i love it! Can i just say i love them! Brett is getting better about tolerating country, so he just laughs and then rolls his eyes when i get so excited about Rascal Flatts! So, anywho, my day is now complete!

Oh yeah, the other thing that happened today was mockboards III. Thanks a whole heap to Crystal. If it wasn't for her genuine love i wouldn't have had a pt today. I'm just glad the pt didn't have "a case of gas" like the last time Crystal saw her! ha ha ha. I really am SOOOO glad that WSU is on the ball and we are able to go through all the motions of clinical boards so that we aren't any more of a stress ball that day in May than we need to be! Although mockboards make for a long day, it's nice to get into the swing of things. For the most part i had a positive experience today....other than someone stole my clinic shoes for the 3rd time. Ok, i feel a little at fault because i leave them out---hello, they wreak and i don't want them in my locker---but i do feel that we should all be responsible enough to bring our own shoes to clinic....and if someone happens to forget theirs on a day i don't need them they are more than welcome to put the stinky things on their toes, but for hell sakes...do you need to take them home for the weekend and several days at a time so that when tuesday rolls around and the true owner needs to use them she is getting written up for not having clinic shoes on? I mean c'mon, is someone that desperate for shoes??? They were like 10 bucks, you can have em if you like em that much. Freak! So, that's how my day was! I wish someone would fess up.....any takers?!

On a lighter note, i just got home from enrichment night where i am being trained to be a domestic housewife! ha ha No, actually i signed up for this one! We learned how to crochet around baby burp-cloths and blankets! Super cute and i feel like maybe i found a hidden talent! So, if any of you want a baby blanket let me know! Crystal too...she was there!

Tuesday, March 28, 2006

Meye Brane iz Fride

Today was another big day...very draining. I don't know which I would prefer--LA boards or this awful written board! I was SOOO incredibly nervous on LA day. Today I was a little nervous, but more than that I think I was just wanting it to be all over with. Our exam ended up being in the skybox which sucked. Someone dropped the ball on making sure that the 1st years had somewhere else to attend their lectures, so that we could feel at home (in the room we've spent the last 2 years of our lives in) by taking the test in our own classroom. The worst part about the skybox room was the elevator situation. For some reason the lame people who kept getting on the elevator thought the sign that said, "Testing on Floor 3--do not enter," was a funny joke. Well, it got a little old. Random people kept taking the 3rd floor...the bell would DING letting us all know they were there. THey would get off, realize the sign in the elevator wasn't lieing, make their apology a vocal one and get back on the elevator with a DING and they were gone again...and all of us were trying to find what question we left off at.

Anyway, THE TEST part of it was what I expected...very long... I knew a lot.... I guessed a lot.... i looked at the clock a lot... my eyes were blurry when I would look up for a break! I actually much preferred the case based questions in the afternoon over the never ending random questions in the morning section. Not that i loved the afternoon by any means, but i felt more confident with that part. Oh well, I just hope we all passed and this is just one more under our belts. I know I have been looking forward to April for a long couple of months now! I am for sure going to pamper myself with a pedicure tomorrow!! Now, if all this rain and snow would go away I would be one happy girl!

Saturday, March 25, 2006

A Good Day...

Well, I've been tied down to my books and needed a break! I've been a little burned out of school lately and sure have had those old "Senioritis" feelings like back in the high school days! Things are a little different now...i don't know that i would dare sluff!! ha ha! So I took a break and I was looking through pictures (which is something i love to do to take up time and relieve stress)! I decided to post this picture because seeing those purple slips makes me happy! These past 2 years will be worth it one day...real soon! This was after our anesthesia boards. We all have big smiles knowing that we've got 2 down, and only 2 more to go.....I can go back to my studies now! Hope all who visit my blog see this picture and get just a little more excited about getting one more board out of the way on Tuesday!! Have a good weekend!

Tuesday, March 21, 2006

WSU---CA

So, today was the day i've been dreading--CA. It really makes for such a long day. When i first got here mrs. campbell informed me that my pt for this afternoon called to confirm...that's weird since i'm CA!! So, I guess it was a pt i saw last september that i put on recall and had totally spaced...so it all worked out because maryann's morning pt no-showed, so the pt i was "supposed" to see today came early for maryann to have a pt in the chair. We didn't realize she was making the roadtrip up from SL in the blizzard. YIKES. Well she made it and maryann was super fast and got her done in like 45 minutes! I did a lot of running around...stocking, sterilizing, filing charts, cleaning up operatories, passing off a few PE's. Thanks to my girls for looking out for me :) Well, not much more to say about CA, pretty lame.

I do however have some things to say about another subject, but i don't know that i should make my feelings public! All i know is that i'm sick of everyone being so worried about everyone elses requirements and freaking out about them. Take care of yourself and don't worry about what i have done. Freak people. Leave me alone! Same goes for the other 2 Stooges.