2 down, 2 to go...
Anesthesia Boards....even though they're over it still ties my stomach in knots to even say that! Yesterday was quite the experience! I am very glad it is over with. I woke up earlier than my alarm...at 5am. The night before i actually felt pretty calm and collected. Yesterday morning was nothing close to calm or collected! As i was getting ready i felt so nauseous that i actually knelt down in front of the toilet waiting to hurl anything and everything i have eaten this past week. Nothing ever came up---probably because I hate throwing up and would rather be on my death bed than have to do that! So, I tried to chill out and relax, i read through my candidate guide and took a few deep breaths!
I made Melissa come pick my up so i didn't have show up alone....i don't know what my deal was, but i needed her to be my security blanket! We met up with Kels and Crystal to go over a last minute study sesh. I felt like i couldn't remember anything! So, going into the test i was scared to death even though we had studied our guts out for the past 3 weeks. The written test didn't seem to be too bad until everyone came out of it and started discussing! Of course, i started worrying, but it all turned out OK...we passed and now on to bigger things! I actually wasn't too nervous for the clinical injection exam. My exam time was for 11:00, so at 10:00 i got melissa's vitals and filled out her papers. At 10:30 it occurred to me that the rest of our classmates were nowhere around....OH MY HECK, orientation started at 10 and we were now 30 minutes late! Hmmm, i felt pretty dumb walking in late and having the examiners ask if we were assistants? I think they were confused when we said we were candidates! I ended up not being a big deal, we just had to sign a paper saying we weren't in the orientation. I prepared before by reading the candidate guide and that said all i really needed to know about the exam.
So, my clinic experience wasn't a "dream" like Crystal's, but it went ok! I got a positive aspiration on my IA...1st time on melissa! No biggie, i said, " I know that my candidate guide says i can redirect and reaspirate, but i would like to get a new setup." The examiners were fine with that and went to watch someone else who also ended up getting a positive and she didn't really know what to do or say, (and didn't sound very professional) so i am really glad Professor Gall gave us some coaching before and i read my candidate guide so i knew exactly what to do and say. The PSA was fine and yay, i passed! I was Melissa's pt and she did great...and if it wasn't for my bleeding ulcer up near my right PSA she wouldn't have had to redo on the left, but like a champ she shot me up like she'd done it a million times! Sorry, Melissa, how on earth do i get an apthous ulcer when you steered clear of the cold sores for me?! Way to go! I'm so glad that day is over....

2 Comments:
I keep looking at my purple sucess card just to make sure it really said that I passed and that is really is my candidate number! I am so stinking happy that this is over! Congrats to you by the way! It feels great to be at this stage of the dental hygiene game!
March 17, 2006 7:35 PM
Have to say it one more time.....I told you so!! :) Yeah! Way to go!!
March 18, 2006 7:52 PM
Post a Comment
<< Home