Thursday, September 29, 2005

bloggity blog blah blah!

Well can you guess the mood i'm in?! HA Ha All i know is that from now on i'm packing 800 mg of Ibuprofen in my lunch on clinic days to avoid this headache i'm experiencing...3 hours later! Not sure where it came from but i could guess, HELL!! Anyway, after clinic was really great. We went to Tearsa's wedding reception and she just looked so beautiful and happy and i wanted to get married all over again! That made my day :)

Now, back to clinic...it wasn't all that bad EXCEPT that i walked both my pt's out 30 minutes late. Some days i feel like the kid on the short bus. No offense crystal! HA HA, just kidding. I don't feel slow while i'm doing the whole OD and everything else i have to do...but apparently i am slow. I saw 2 new pt's today so i had to do all the charting and i was hoping that i could get some needed experience but they both ended up being Class V's. So, since the semester has started all i have seen is V's and IB's and i don't feel like i have improved on anything except removing calculus off of the linguals of lower anteriors. I don't feel like i am where i should be. I wonder if i'll even remember how to scale a posterior teeth under a contact when it looks me in the face. So, i haven't seen anyone who would even be remotely close to a Mock board pt. I'm starting to worry a little.

I really learned a lot from shane today. He told me to really keep my eye out for furcations and recession and i think when we (or at least i) get involved with all the other things to chart i sometimes look over those important finds! I had a class IV--through and through today and i actually scaled it! So, that was cool! Thanks "Jeff!" We missed melissa in pod today since she had to be CA at the VA--again. IT's just not the same without her there! And, we are going to miss instructor perry and his random trivia! Did you know ARBY's stands for Americas Roast Beef-Yes Sir? Hmmm, interesting!

Monday, September 26, 2005

"same day rule?"

Where did "same day rule" come from? I always wonder where people come up with their blog-spot titles. Some are pretty random and i'm sure there's a story behind each. I figured i would let everyone in on what it means to me! Actually it reminds me of a vacation i took to Alaska last summer--2004. I went with my mom and dad, an aunt, uncle and just one of my 4 brothers, Bridger. He is a brother that....well, how can i put it nicely....isn't the brightest crayon in that new box of Crayolas!! HA HA He was 18 years at the time of the trip. He is just a goofy kid! Although we did not grow up in the country...he is as REDNECK as they come!! Has anyone ever watched the "Blue Collar Comedy Tour?" If so, you are probably laughing already and quoting all the classic one-liners in it! So, you know LARRY THE CABLE GUY? yeah, the hick that talks like he didn't make it past 6th grade and wears a big flannel shirt with the sleeves cut off? That is my brother Bridger to a T!!! He walks, talks, eats, sleeps, drinks, wears and drives REDNECK!! He is a real classic! "GIT-R-DONE!!!" HA HA HA

So, this Alaska trip was 11 days straight of fishing. My dad had booked different trips and outings each day and we were on a tight time schedule, that usually started somewhere around 5:30 am each day. Bridger, being the speedy cowboy that he is always was strugglin' to get on the ball. We were always waitin' on Bridge---wherever we went! "TODAY, TODAY" was what we were saying constantly. Then it turned into "SAME DAY RULE!" And that's how it came about. You probably had to be there, but it got to be pretty funny when about 5 times a day we were saying "same day rule, Bridge!" Now a year later it is a phrase that still lingers around my parents house! I use it when i'm waitin around for friends or my husband and i always laugh to myself but nobody quite gets it. If nothing else, just go rent the comedy tour and look out for my brother Larry...i mean Bridger and you will see how interesting things can be in the life of a Brklacich!

Thursday, September 22, 2005

Some people are BORN off their rocker!

Well, i don't believe people are born that way...but sometimes it makes me wonder how much people really care about their overall health. My pt this afternoon was a relative of someone i had recently seen, so she gave her my number. I thought "Cool," a patient i don't have to search for on my own! Anyway, her hhx was kind of extensive and there were two different things that premedication was needed for; she previously had rheumatic fever and a joint replacement, but she apparently is invincible or something and was "fine to have her cleaning without it." She made it difficult for me to communicate to her that i needed to do a physician consult and talk to her doctor. She was frustrated and a little impatient. She said the dr. she wrote down on her hhx form wouldn't "know a hill of beans" from what i know because when she went into his office she didn't put on her hhx there that she'd had rheumatic fever. I just don't understand! Does she not care about her health?

ANYWAY, to make a long story a little longer, her physician consult from the joint replacement said she needed premed.... so that would also take care of any heart problems from Rh.fever if there were any valvular probs. She said she would take some at home because she had a whole cupboard full of Amox, which i found funny because she also told me she's allergic to penicillan and derivitives of pen. Hmmm, anyway...Dr. Hopkin wrote her a RX for next time and we just did xrays only today and scheduled her to come back in April. She is heading to AZ for the winter and she said she would just get her teeth cleaned across the border in Mexico while she was there. HMMMM, very interesting. So, smell ya later, huh? SO, I had to vent. I have a large headache and can't wait to down a few IBuprof's when i walk in the door tonight. YIKES!
Hopefully she takes that premed next time, huh?!

So, i must give a shout out to Jeff Perry...-aka-...Evil eye. He came to console me an d calm my pt down who was waving her hands in the air! What are fake toes made out of??? I learned from jeff that they're made out of TEFLON. Man, he knows EVERYTHING!!! I don't even think my pt. knew that. OH, and one more thing. Sorry bout that "Privates Irritation" on the hhx. It was her who said it....I'm just the recorder!
--brick-lick--
s

Thursday, September 15, 2005

just another day!

Today was ok. I had a pt. that i had never seen before. She was very nice and really patient for all procedures and complimented me on my work which is always a booster, especially after a long day when i felt like i wasn't working very efficiently. She wants to refer a few of her family members to me, so that will pay off! I feel like i had an ok day, but i still need a lot of practice!! Instructor Perry is really helping me learn a lot too. I will be sad when he isn't our pod helper anymore. Anywho, ta ta for now!

Thursday, September 08, 2005

LEARNING NEVER ENDS!

Today was good. I had patients come that i knew would be a good review...family and friends will always be there for ya!! To tell the honest truth i was really nervous this morning to come and see a patient again. I don't know why?! I think I doubt myself...like i did last year when we first started. Anyway, I really like Instructor Perry as our pod instructor. I like how he asks us a ton of questions while we are scaling...just about random hygiene things that help get our brains thinking towards boards. I feel like i have already learned more in these 2 sessions today from him than i did all last year. Maybe it all just makes sense now or something! I feel like i have a lot to review from last year's classes then i will feel a little more comfortable and capable!

Thursday, September 01, 2005

The BIG DAY BACK!!

Well, today was as i expected it to be...kinda long, a good refresher, and a little nerve bumping. It's crazy to think that it's been 4 months since i last probed a tooth or pulled out the old Barnhart! I think it will take some practice to get back into the swing of things. The nice thing about clinic today was that with some review a lot of knowledge was flowing back to the brain! I am excited for the year to know that after 2 more semesters everything will start to payoff! I'm excited to get to know our 2nd year faculty!